Preview: Laurel’s Whitley Bay Comedy Festival | NARC. | Reliably Informed | Music and Creative Arts News for Newcastle and the North East

Narc. Magazine Online

Reliably informed

Laurel’s Whitley Bay Comedy Festival kicks off this week and will be bringing you an eclectic range of some of the finest funnies around throughout July. 

Getting the ball rolling on Wednesday 3rd July is Scrapper Reed who will be bringing  DAFTIES, their night of alt, silly and daft comedy to town. Next up on Thursday 4th July is The Buz!, an election special comedy chat show with surprise guests and live music, which is followed by Paul Campbell: The Lost Tapes Of Somerfield on Sunday 7th July which explores the bittersweet experience of becoming infatuated with a retail establishment. 

On Wednesday 10th July, Teesside comedian Fran Garrity performs his brand new show Since When? and Chris Cantrill talks about the consequences of exile, middle-aged friendships, and the best way to admit you wear a cape sometimes in Easily Swayed. They’re followed by Tyneside faves Simon Beckwith, with his show Bricks, and Lauren Pattinson, performing Big Girl Pants, on Thursday 11th July, Phil Henderson will be doing his debut solo stand-up comedy show Space Cowboy and Seymour Mace will be dishing out an evening of high octane surrealism with his show Seymour F**king Mace You C**ts! On Friday 12th July and finishing the week will be Laurel’s Comedy Club featuring Mick Ferry, Brennan Reece, Alex Redman and Si Beckwith on Saturday 14th July and Lass Laugh Comedy, a night celebrating the best up-and-coming female comedians from the region, on Sunday 15th July.

Wednesday 17th July sees UK Pun Championships Winner bring his show Get Rich Quick to Laurels, he’s closely followed by blind comedian and folk singer David Eagle performing The Eagle is Candid and 

local comic Sean Turner performing Pythonesque Comedy By A Dry Surreal Geordie Bloke Who Has ADHD on Thursday 18th July. Heading into the weekend Jack & Sam are taking their cult comedy night Silly Billies to the coast and Deage Paxton gets all Inappropriate on Friday 19th July, The Halls Of Ridiculous combine lightning-fast improvised comedy with high-octane character sketches on Saturday 20th July and The Comedy Film Club will be showing some of the funniest short films from the North East and around the UK alongside a screening of award-winning dark comedy Tone Death on Sunday 21st July.

Getting the final week of laughs up and running is The Muses with their fresh and experimental comedy sketch show Is This Anything on Wednesday 23rd July, master of quick-fire comedy Kevin O’Brien performs his show ABC of One Liner Jokes on Friday 25th July, The North East’s answer to Monty Python, Metroland Comedy debut their Edinburgh Fringe show on 25th and 26th July. Bringing proceedings to a close are internationally acclaimed cult comedy favourite Laura Davis on Saturday 26th July and Dave Bibby, who tries to reshape the classic movie in his critically acclaimed show Baby Dinosaur, on Sunday 27th July

Like this story? Share it!

Subscribe to our mailout