NEWS: Duncan Lloyd Album Release | NARC. | Reliably Informed | Music and Creative Arts News for Newcastle and the North East

Narc. Magazine Online

Reliably informed

In case you didn’t think Duncan Lloyd was busy enough – you know, between being part of the Maximo Park machine, a core participant in dream pop masterminds Nano Kino, and a plethora of other musical and artistic products – he’s just gone and ticked off another box on the ‘to do’ list with the release of his latest solo album, I O U O M E, on Friday 26th May.

Having performed solo in the past under the moniker Decade in Exile, the switch to using his own name for his solo work in recent years finds him expanding both his lyrical and musical focus. The album moves from jangling country a la opening track The City Weeps to the noisy shoegaze of Heart In Delay and the languorous, Graham Coxon-eqsue pop of Really. Lyrically too, it veers from dark night of the soul reflections on ailing relationships, days and friendships now passed and kicking unhealthy habits to humorous, ultra-micro observational writing.

With assistance from fellow Maximo Park and Nano Kino member Tom English on drums and backing vocals from Nicole Yun from Eternal Summers, I O U O M E is a superficially casual sounding but also minutely detailed release that welcomes the attentive listener with open arms.

Duncan Lloyd releases new album  I O U O M E, on Friday 26th May.

Like this story? Share it!

Subscribe to our mailout