Feature: Stage in early 2016 | NARC. | Reliably Informed | Music and Creative Arts News for Newcastle and the North East

Narc. Magazine Online

Reliably informed

With 2016 fast approaching, it’s time to get excited about all the new year has in store for us. We’ll spend the build up to New Year’s Eve picking out some of the cultural highlights for you, so you can start scribbling dates and gigs into that new diary you got for Christmas.

Next up, we take a look at the variety of offerings across stage in the North East.

First up, Gala Theatre in Durham has a multitude of shows, with The Winter’s Tale a stand-out on Thursday 7th January, co-directed by Rob Ashford and Kenneth Branagh, starring Brannagh himself and Dame Judi Dench, this could be one of the best plays to see of the year. There’s also a much anticipated showing of another of William Shakespeare’s master pieces, As You Like It is on Thursday 25th February and Monday 29th February. There’s a version of Cole Porter’s joyful and high-spirited musical Kiss Me Kate running from Tuesday 19th January until Saturday 23rd January too.

Northern Stage sees an adaptation of Get Carter run from Friday 12th  February until Saturday 5th March. Other highlights in their early 2016 programme include a new fast-paced adaptation of George Orwell’s much-loved classic, Animal Farm from Thursday 3rd March until Saturday 5th March, and Erica Whyman OBE directs the nation’s favourite Shakespeare play, A Midsummer Night’s Dream from Wednesday 16th March until Saturday 26th March.

Alan Ayckbourn’s award winning Round And Round The Garden is one of the highlights of Darlington Civic Theatre‘s offerings, and that runs from Monday 18th January until Wednesday 20th January.

Durham’s Alun Armstrong Theatre is the home for a unique one man play centred on boxer Glenn McCrory from Tuesday 24th May through until Saturday 28th May.

Newcastle’s Theatre Royal has a brilliant line up for 2016 too, with a hit from the West End, and one for for drama lovers; The Father, which runs from Sunday 18th April until Saturday 23rd April. There’s also wonderfully uplifting family drama in the form of Olivier award-winning Goodnight Mister Tom from Tuesday 17th May until Saturday 21st May.

Musicals are a big part of Tyne Theatre‘s best bits of 2016, with Sweeney Todd running from Wednesday 2nd March and closing on Saturday 5th March, or there’s Madame Butterfly on Friday 26th February.

With announcements still waiting for smaller theatres like Alphabetti Theatre as to their 2016 line-up, you can pack in treats like Agatha Christie’s Murder On The Nile at The People’s Theatre, Newcastle in the mean time.

There really are so many offerings across the broad spectrum stage and theatre allows, with truly something for everyone, 2016 is really shaping up to be quite the year for North East Culture in 2016.

Like this story? Share it!